Before anyone freaks at me about the fact that I'm listening to a (an?) R&B song and then ripping on a similar genre...that song actually has a (pretty) good meaning compared to most of its counterparts that are being repeated to death on the radio.
Alright, am I the only one who's *really* amazed with some of the crap that's being called "music" and thrown out to the public? And even worse, am I the only one who's amazed that the general public keeps eating it up and begging for more?
Here's a few examples of this "crap" that I'm talking about
1) "Ice Cream Paint Job" by Dorrough
Okay, first of all, what the hell is an "Ice Cream" paint job? Second of all, is there any purpose to this song? Because I really cannot see any. With most of the popular rap out there today people at least have the excuse of "it's got a good beat to dance to" as some way to defend it. This has nothing. It has no beat, barely any actually music, and the lyrics are absolutely awful. Besides, who in the right mind would find enjoyment in dancing to a song about how your car should look?
Just for the record, I'm all for people making music and what not...but can we at least make some guidelines or regulations as to what is going to be thrown out to the entire world? Like...an actual meaning behind the song?
2) "Birthday Sex" by Jeremih (No, I didn't spell that wrong, that's how he spells his name)
Once again, a basically pointless song that has no meaning whatsoever. It basically just proves my point that a majority of the "popular" music these days is just meaningless crap and as long as you "look good" or have a "good beat" then you can become a millionaire. You don't need any talent, you just need connections. That's it. Then you can make millions off a song about having sex on your birthday. Great world we live in, eh?
3) "Turn My Swag On" by Soulja Boy
Yeah, I know this isn't that recent but this song is just awful. Everything about it, the music itself is painful, and the fact that he is insanely off-key during the chorus and just about throughout the entire song makes me wonder how in the world this song ever was allowed to even be produced. Soulja Boy, stop making music, thank you.
And the last thing I want to say on the topic of music is how unoriginal a large majority of rap/popular music is today. The greatest example I can give is Flo Rida on his new album. He's got "Sugar", "Right Round", and "Jump" that all use either a past song's chorus/back-track or a well known saying as the chorus to his song. It used to be you had to bring something original the table before you could get signed and produced...apparently you don't even need that anymore, you can just buy off the sounds or words of past artists and sell them as your own. Or like I said before, you just need connections and you can be a millionaire too.
On to a slightly different topic. Has anyone else wondered about the future lately? I mean, when I was a kid I pictured the future as incredibly clean and futuristic with flying cars all over the place and everything working smoothly. Lately? I can only see the future being so much worse than things are now. I was talking to my friend today about how people type on facebook or when commenting on a video/picture. And we came to this question, how many year's or generation's will pass before that's the "normal" way to type, and proper spelling and typing become a thing of the past. And the most ironic thing about it is when I see someone typing something like this:
.:I lOvE mY bF sOoOoOo MuCh!! wE r LiKe MaDe 4 eAcH OtHa!!!:.
Which doesn't make a single bit of sense. I can kind of understand and defend "typing lik dis" when it comes to saving space or time (but really, how much time are you saving by typing like that?) but when I see several status updates a day with people like that it just confuses me because they're 1) making things much more difficult to read quickly 2) making it a lot more difficult to type and 3) not saving anytime whatsoever. There is absolutely no reason to type like that, nothing good or beneficial comes out of it besides maybe being able to say "But I'm being original!!"...but even then, you're not. You're just being a dumbass.
Going back to what the future will hold, I made a joke (albeit, somewhat crude and over the top, but not altogether farfetched) about how computers in a few generations will come with not Minesweeper and Solitaire as the built-in games but "Drop Sum Phat Beatz" and "Score Sum Hoes". Like I said, sure it's a little over the top, but in all honesty, isn't that the only thing our generation thinks about or aspires to be? They want to become millionaire's and get all the girl's because "that's the cool thing to do". And with how easy it is to get into the music industry now-a-day's it's not that crazy of a concept (I'm looking at you Soulja Boy).
This is yet another reason why it bothers me to no end when people rip on the Jonas Brother's or Miley Cyrus but then go on to continue blasting Soulja Boy at the highest volume on their ipod's. At least their music has depth...and moral's...and talent.