Foreword: I have a tendency to get very passionate on this subject so I apologize if this comes off as rather emotional.
Second foreword: I will says "Christian's" a lot in this post, and when I do, I'm talking about the majority of what I've seen. I know several Christian's that are loving, tolerant, and accepting, however the majority is certainly not.
First of all, I hate Christian's. Well, let me rephrase that, I hate a large majority of Christian's. Don't get me wrong, I love Christianity, God, and the Bible, but Christian's in general have a tendency to thoroughly piss me off.
Here's why:
I thoroughly believe that Christian's are some of the more judgmental, uneducated, and ignorant people on the earth. Furthermore, I think there are many Christian's that don't even really follow God's teaching, they just follow what the pastor tells them to follow and believe.
And here's why I say those things. I say Christian's are judgmental because...well...look at how many of them tell gay people they're going to hell, or that they don't agree with their lifestyle, or the phrase I've heard countless times "I love you as a person, but I just can't accept that part of you" as if saying they love me makes it all better.
I say Christian's are uneducated for a couple reason's. First, they love to pick and choose what they want to believe and what they don't want to hear. For example, Leviticus 19:27-28 says "27 'Do not cut the hair at the sides of your head or clip off the edges of your beard. 28 'Do not cut your bodies for the dead or put tattoo marks on yourselves. I am the LORD." This is written in the chapter just before the infamous Leviticus 20:13 verse about "homosexuality". Why don't we condemn everyone with tattoos to hell? Why aren't people that have nicely trimmed beards or are clean-shaven insulted, harassed, and terrorized? The answer? Time's changed and with the change, the rules shifted to fit how people are living presently. So why is it that people can't move past the verse that "condemns homosexuality"?
Side-note: I just want to throw this out there. This literally had me shaking with anger and since then, I have refused to return. I went to the college youth group that me former church runs one sunday night a few weeks ago and I noticed something. The lead singer had a fairly large tattoo on his right forearm and yet no one even batted an eyelash about that because it's considered to be "cool". And yet, if I were to walk in holding hands with my boyfriend, I'd get more looks than the heterosexual couple in the corner trying to get as much body contact as humanly possible. I'm sorry, but there is something very wrong with that picture.
I say Christian's are ignorant because they just follow blindly behind whatever their parents or pastors preach or teach them and take that as infallible truth instead of actually doing their own research and coming to their own decision's. Also, they love to pick and choose what rules they want to follow and support. I gave a firm example of that earlier.
Also, I've heard more times than not that we have some kind of "gay agenda" that we're trying to accomplish. I will say this once and on time only:
That is complete and utter bullshit.
The reason I brought this up is because of this video:
Is the fact that Barack Obama is the president the fruition of an "African American agenda"? If you didn't know, interracial marriage used to be illegal but then the laws were changed and marriage was redefined to allow interracial marriage. Was that the fruition of an "African American agenda"? Was that them trying to turn people black and take over the country? Of course not. That was another minority that wanted equal rights. That's all that gay people want. Equal rights and to not have to worry about holding hands with their significant other while they walk down the street.
----DISCLAIMER----
I've seen some shows where some African American people have made a minimal connection between African American rights and gay rights and while I don't at all think that they're nearly on the same level...the basics are there. Minorities being needlessly oppressed because of religion. That's the only message I'm trying to get across, I wouldn't dream of comparing the two.
----END DISCLAIMER----
I've also heard several times that people are just trying to "protect marriage". Um...what is there to protect? And how is same-sex marriage going to "damage" it? Last time I looked, DIVORCE is what destroys marriage. Now why the hell aren't people wanting to ban that?
Finally, I'm going to leave this with a series of video's that I found to be incredibly beneficial and educational and I would strongly recommend them if you want to get a more in depth look as to the damage the Christianity has done over the centuries and is still getting away with presently.
And if you want to see just how ignorant and hateful some Christian's can be, here's a video documenting it:
No comments:
Post a Comment