I'm going to try and not turn this into just a big rant but I can't make any promises, lol.
I really do not understand why people loathe the Jonas Brothers (or Miley Cyrus, Hillary Duff, Miranda Cosgrove, or any other Disney star turned artist) because in all honesty, none of their music is really that bad. I actually enjoy listening to most of their songs...and there is MUCH worse music out there. And, in my opinion, I'd much rather see the younger generation listening to any of them and actually be getting some good values put into their life then having them be blinded by Flo Rida, Pussycat Dolls, etc. (I refer you to this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8eQ5yWoGfQw)
In response to that video:
1) What parent actually allows their (7 year old?) child to listen to that kind of music? And people wonder why kids are having sex at younger and younger ages...it's not just the artist's fault. They make the music they want to make, they have no control really over who listens to it and what not. That's up to the parents to show some responsibility and use a little control over what their child is listening to and if it's appropriate or not.
2) Well, I guess this is more in response to the comments on the video...no, that is not cute, that is terrible. At that age he should be singing Row Row Row Your Boat or something.
Although, I will say that tv channels and producer's could do a MUCH better job of selecting music they play, especially on general kid's channels. (I refer you to this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQED4DR7lX4). It's no wonder kids want to have sex at such young ages, and why girls tend to dress slutty at younger ages as well. They see those girls performing, basically shoving the essence of sex in their face, and making millions off of it. Of course they're going to think that's "cool".
I'll end with this, I'm not condoning the artists or the music they make (heck, I like Flo Rida's music myself), but I just believe that if parents and producers did a better job of censoring and just using common sense then a lot of the sex-crazed cultural we live in would begin to deteriorate.
No comments:
Post a Comment